Tuesday, 3 November 2015

A change to the November schedule too!

PLEASE NOTE: November also has a change to the usual schedule. The first Thursday evening meeting of the month has been moved to the Friday. (And you thought they'd just moved to Friday's during October!)
Apologies there was an error in the days below - dates correct. This has now been corrected.

With that explained here's when we'll be meeting in November:

  • Friday 6th November (18:30)
  • Sunday 8th November (10:00)
  • Thursday 12th November (18:30)
  • Thursday 19th November (18:30)
  • Thursday 26th November (18:30)
As ever there will be all sorts of creative tinkering and repairing going on. So why not come along with something you want to work on, or just to see what everybody's up to!

Monday, 28 September 2015

A Change of day for October.

October sees a change to the usual schedule. There are NO Thursday evening meetings of the Hackspace. Don't panic though, they've just moved to Friday's during October!

With that explained here's when we'll be meeting in October:

  • Friday 2nd October (18:30)
  • Sunday 4th October (10:00)
  • Friday 9th October (18:30)
  • Friday 18th October (18:30)
  • Friday 23rd October (18:30)
  • Friday 30th October (18:30)

Do come along. There's all sorts of things afoot at the moment including: people repairing quad copters, general tinkering with 3D printers, experiments with different ways to finish 3D printed objects, and even plans underway to develop autonomous sandwich delivery vehicles!

Friday, 4 September 2015

Sunday cancelled & Brighton Mini Maker Faire

Just a quick note to cover a couple of things:

  1. There is no Sunday Hackspace session this month (September)
  2. It's was under 12 hours until the Brighton Mini Maker Faire featuring the Surrey and Hampshire Hackspace (when this was first posted)

Last year's Brighton Mini Maker Faire was a really good event so do try to get to it if you can. For more information please see the Brighton Mini Maker Faire website

Thursday, 23 July 2015

Thursday 16th Session

With our weekly sessions as lively as ever there was a good turn out at last week's with a wide range of projects under way. These included driving a VGA monitor using a PIC microcontroller, and replacing the power switch on a USB audio interface.

A VGA monitor displaying coloured blocks.  The monitor is on top of an oscilloscope displaying signal traces.  In the foreground a laptop is being used to edit code to run on the PIC microcontroller A PIC microcontroller and assorted components in a breadboard.  A VGA lead is connected to drive the monitor. The insides of a USB audio interface with a recently replaced power switch.

Among the other highlights were a sound controlled display, a variety of soldering, and designing and sewing clothes for a 3D printed Makie doll.

A tapering tower of perspex plates illuminated by LEDs ranging from green at the bottom to red at the top. A helping hands magnifier in front of a temperature controller SMD rework soldering station. A green haired 3D printed Makie doll wearing hand made victorian era inspired underwear.

Thursday, 11 June 2015

Thursday 11th June's session cancellation.

Unfortunately our kind host has had to cancel Thursday 11th June's session due to unexpected lurgy.

Friday, 29 May 2015

Changes to normal schedule.

There are some important changes to the normal Hackspace schedule over the next couple of weeks.

  • 4th June (Thursday) - No session.
  • 7th June (Sunday) - No session.
  • 11th June (Thursday) - Cancelled due to ill health
  • 14th June (Sunday) - Replacement Sunday Session.

If you're pining for more tinkering before the 11th, then here are some images from a few of our previous sessions to tide you over:

Friday, 17 April 2015

Hack Session 16-04-15

Another lively evening with plenty of people.

Attendance at least 16, maybe more (You try counting active hackers, they just won't stand still!)

2 Printerbot simple metal 3D printers having their heated beds fitted.

12mm rod being turned into 8mm rod for a turbine spindle.

AVR programming for a presistance of vision design.

Arduino Programming for a LED cube.

Electronic saxaphone playing.

Random drilling of stuff.

More 3D printer calibration.

Much more stuff!